Forums Archive -> VectorStar News

An overall update 2003-09-02 21:38:09
by lmbedore
Here's an overall update on the status of things around VectorStar as of late. I'm sure many of you are interested in our stability problems recently, as well as whatever-the-hell-is-happening with that user management and new user signup system that I've been promising for the last 2 years...

First, the stability problems.
Vector, the file server and overall core of our network, has gone through an amazing amount of bad luck, as well as so many hardware changes that it's not really the same box I built 6 months ago. It has gone through: a power supply, two motherboards, 1.5 gigs of RAM, a RAID card, a SCSI card, two tape drives, and one hard drive. The majority of the outages we have suffered have been because of Vector crashing.

We've had Chester (the mail server) crash on its own twice, apparently due to some very obscure and rarely-occurring bug between VIA chipsets and Promise FastTrak RAID cards in Linux. There are two ways by which the kernel could access the drives, one of which could easily break the RAID set (not the best of driver designs), and I think this is at the heart of the matter. When we get money and time, we'll be replacing those Promise cards with 3ware cards, thus resolving the issue.

Power outages have been very frequent as of late. Storms and power flickers are to be expected this time of year (I think we average 1 or 1.5 inches a day of rain), but our UPS hasn't been up to the job of handling the flickers. Only last week did we discover that the batteries in our UPS blew up, spraying battery acid all over the internal electronics of the unit. We are running off a backup unit (Thanks Jeff & Jeremy!) for the time being, until we figure out what to do with our acid-soaked UPS.

The Administration System: